Skip to main navigation.

Youth Tour

What is the Government-in-Action Youth Tour?

Every June, 1,700 high school students from across the country spend a week in the nation's capital as part of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Youth Tour. The students are sponsored by electric cooperatives – cooperatives that are committed to educating America's rural youth about America and the role electric cooperatives play in developing strong rural communities.

Participating in the Youth Tour is an awesome way to learn about this great nation, develop leadership skills, gain a better understanding of electric cooperatives, and make friendships that will last beyond the week!

To apply, contact a participating electric cooperative:

Black Hills Electric Cooperative, Custer Kingsbury Electric Cooperative, De Smet
Bon Homme Yankton Electric Association, Tabor Lacreek Electric Association, Martin
Butte Electric Cooperative, Newell Lake Region Electric Association, Webster
Central Electric Cooperative, Mitchell Moreau-Grand Electric Cooperative, Timber Lake
Charles Mix Electric Association, Lake Andes Northern Electric Cooperative, Bath
Cherry-Todd Electric Cooperative, Mission Oahe Electric Cooperative, Blunt
Clay-Union Electric Corporation, Vermillion Sioux Valley Energy, Colman
Codington-Clark Electric Cooperative Watertown Southeastern Electric Cooperative, Marion
Dakota Energy Cooperative, Huron Traverse Electric Cooperative, Wheaton, Minn.
Douglas Electric Cooperative, Armour Union County Electric Cooperative, Elk Point
FEM Electric Association, Ipswich West Central Electric Cooperative, Murdo
Grand Electric Cooperative, Bison West River Electric Association, Wall
H-D Electric Cooperative, Clear Lake Whetstone Valley Electric Cooperative, Milbank


Alumni of the Youth Tour program are eligible for a $10,000 national scholarship through the Glenn English Foundation.

Check out the history of this program here: